Angst Girl

Now With 25% More Angst!

Inadequate

on August 21, 2013

I watched a documentary on PBS on Monday named “Flying” and it left me feeling inadequate. In fact I almost stop watching it, even though it was interesting, because I was feeling bad about myself. It chronicled the life of a forty-something woman who is a filmmaker and travels the world. She has a ton of friends from different countries and backgrounds. She was living an exciting life and I found myself to be jealous of her. I have a very small circle of friends and am currently unemployed but have always had desk jobs. I don’t travel that much (although I’m on the final countdown to my European trip!) and would like to travel more. She was able to be very introspective and looked to her friends for context and feedback and is able to take negative feedback and make it an opportunity for personal growth.

I found myself taking stock of my life and not really liking what I saw. I’m still fat, I have few friends, I’m on disability so I have no job, I’m not spontaneous, and I’m just not comfortable in my own skin much of the time. I finished the documentary in tears. I know I shouldn’t covet someone else’s life but I just couldn’t seem to help it.

The more I thought about it, though, the more I realized that I just couldn’t live that life even though I wanted to. I’m an introvert (see THIS LINK. It completely describes me) and I need to get comfortable with that. It’s who I am. I’m working on losing weight, I’ll eventually have a job again, and I have little need for a large circle of friends. I need to find a way to be okay with where I’m at in life but it SO wasn’t what I imagined it would be. I mourn for that loss. But I need to stop getting stuck in the mourning period and move on with life as it is or make the necessary adjustments to change it.

I also need to cut myself a break. I’ve had difficult things in life to deal with (as we all have to some extent) and I’ve been able to come out the other side still intact. Depression consumed many years of my life and being overweight has inhibited me from reaching my full potential. As a residual effect of the depression, I tend to get stuck in the past because for so many years I didn’t see a future for myself.

The facts are that I’m a very compassionate person, I’m smart, have good common sense, love deeply, I embrace the differences in people, am a good problem-solver, and I am creative. I need to embrace the good in me and live from a place of gratitude and self-love rather than jealousy or grief. I couldn’t live her life because I am me and have different strengths and struggles.

I can intellectually realize all these things but have never been able to absorb them and believe them. It’s something I’m working on and will continue to work on the rest of my life I’m sure. With what do you struggle?

2 responses to “Inadequate

  1. boredlandia says:

    I hate feeling inadequate. I know often times when I’m blogging I wish I was as cool as The Bloggess, or when I’m finished with a project I’m dying to be JK Rowling, or when my screenplay is complete I hope I’m like Steven Speilberg. Some shit just doesn’t happen like that. There life is filled with adventure but it may be missing other categories you are perfect in. Kind of funny how as a unit we could all learn something from one another.

  2. Tora Jackson says:

    Hang in there. Everyone has challenges. I feel inadequate trying to “feel what others feel”. Sometimes I can get strong emotions, but most of the times I just don’t don’t relate to people well. I also deal with racing thinking so bad that my days and nights play like films that go continuously-it’s exhausting and frustrating, but’s it’s just my life. It can be hard not relating to a lot of people (especially when it comes to getting jokes and conversation) but I have acclimated well I think. Hang in there, sounds like you have a healthy self image.

Leave a Reply

