Angst Girl

Now With 25% More Angst!

Self Worth

on April 15, 2013

So I wrote this book and self-published it on Amazon (see the sidebar to the right). I enjoyed the writing process, even though it brought up some bad memories, and now it’s out there in the world. Of course I want people to read it and like it but I don’t have delusions that it will make it to the bestseller list or anything. That being said, I’m struggling a little with equating sales to success.

On Amazon I can see how many people have bought the book and Kindle versions. I check it every day. Every day! It’s certainly not because I think I’m going to get rich off it because I only make a little over $2.00 per sale. No, I think I’m looking for validation which is a tricky thing. It’s like with this blog. I want people to read it and leave a little comment and if that doesn’t happen I start second-guessing myself and my writing.

With both the blog and the book, I try not to equate readers with success but it’s difficult for me, someone who looks to others for self worth. I know I’m not supposed to do that and it’s something I struggle with every day. I’m working on caring less about what other people think of me but it’s definitely a work in progress.

But that still leaves me here, stalking Amazon.com and my blog, waiting for validation.


One response to “Self Worth

  1. Tora Jackson says:

    STOP IT ALREADY AND STOP LOOKING AT IT- (the amazon sales thingies)!!!!!!!!! The book comments, how many bought/sold, blah blah had nothing to do with you writing the book. So, stop circling your horses trying to set yourself up for failure..move on. You are the one choosing to keep yourself in this position of limbo. And although it is refreshing that someone actually cares what others’ think. I think you use it as a crutch. You are wonderful, be yourself, and let em’ “sit and spin” if they don’t like some of your thoughts or what you say…that’s what makes this world go around. Yes, it may be difficult, but I love success……and that’s what I see in you. “I’m scared of the big bad world” doesn’t match your personality-I;m not buying it. NO SALE!

Leave a comment