Angst Girl

Now With 25% More Angst!

Writing

on April 1, 2013

It’s taken me years to write my book. I would work on it for a little while then put it away for a very long time. When I started it I was still in the deep throes of depression so motivation was difficult for me. Now that I’m on the proper medication, it was easier for me to stay motivated and get it finished. It was difficult, however, to revisit those times.

My mother asked me if the book was difficult to write since it dealt with so many bad times in my life. I did cry while writing parts of the book and, because depression messes with your memory, it was even difficult to recall the order of events. But overall it was a catharsis and I’m so glad I did it even if it’s not widely read.

The final chapter was the best for me to write because it allowed me to take stock of where I’m at and how far I’ve come. I’m a better person today than in my past and it was important for me to acknowledge that. I’m still a work in progress, of course, as we all are but I have to give myself credit for living through what I have and coming out stronger on the other side.

I took a creative memoir course in graduate school and that’s where I really started getting excited about finishing my book. It took many years after that to actually finish it but it’s where I started to get positive feedback about my writing. I highly recommend sitting down and writing out your life story. It doesn’t have to be good and you don’t have to make it public if you don’t want to. But the act of writing down your experiences and history really can help you take stock of your life and your character. It highlights your strengths and accomplishments and also shows where there can be improvement. If you do want to publish the book, it’s very easy to do it on Amazon.com and you still retain the rights so if it’s a blockbuster and a traditional publisher wants to buy it that is still an option.

I don’t expect a large number of people to read my book but I hope that it can help those who do read it. When I was really depressed I read a book, You Are Not Alone, that really helped me because it allowed me to see that others had some of the same experiences and feelings I did. It is a collection of short personal glimpses into their experiences with mental illnesses. I found kindred spirits in people I didn’t even know and it helped me to feel a little more “normal.” I highly recommend the book for people who are suffering from mental illness and the people who love them. I would be very happy if my book did even half as much for someone else as You Are Not Alone did for me.

So sit down and write your story. It doesn’t have to be in the form of a book. Start a journal if that is more comfortable. I was never good at committing to regular writing so sitting down and writing it all out at once was a better path for me. Even if writing isn’t your thing, I encourage you to use it as a way to reflect on your life and also look to the future.

One response to “Writing

  1. Mrs. Chili says:

    Introspection – properly executed – is a necessary thing for growth. While I don’t always write introspective things on my blog, I do find that I’m regularly engaged in the practice, nonetheless.

    I’m waiting for my copy of your book to arrive from Amazon…

Leave a Reply

